Steal These Thoughts 18.10.22 | Debunking high-performance advice

Debunking high-performance advice

LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube
Spotify

I am not your guru...

The big thought

The question that I seem to get asked frequently, and the one that always makes me chuckle the most, is "What's your morning routine?". My answer usually goes along the line of "I roll out of bed, stumble down my stairs and down some water hoping to wake up my brain before the day's first task".This usually gets lots of laughs, but then an inevitable look of "Cool, but seriously, what's your routine?" is fired back at me.I've found that because I share a lot of my work and the process behind it online, people often get confused that I have some kind of magical framework in place to execute all of the stuff I do.

Now, this belief generally puts me into that category of "Oh, he must have a morning and night routine". 

When in reality, I don't invest in any of that or not in the way that I see the social media 'gurus' preach, anyway. And, that's because being around high-performing people, teams and content creators over the last 15 years has given me access to see what actually works well.

Two things, in particular, that grind my gears are the notion that you need to wake up at 5 am to be successful (shots fired at the YouTubers) and that we need to quit the corporate world to be a success.I find that 99% of the people who recommend these things have either never worked at all or have made lots of money from a niche industry and now trying to moonlight as some form of career expert now they have cash.This is the danger of the information economy and access to so much unfiltered content.

A common sense approach

I summed up most of what I've seen in the above post on LinkedIn.I believe that by investing in these 4 activities you can nurture high performance in whatever you do. I'll probably sound like a conspiracy theorist saying "don't believe everything you read" Yet, it's true.Context is king in all situations and we need to deploy this when we engage with any content.  What works for one doesn't work for all.So, next time you think you need to spend 4 hours on a morning routine to get success, think again. Reaching high performance is different for us all.

You might also like...

81% of senior managers surveyed said that the lack of digital skills is impacting business performance. More needs to be done, right?

One more thing...

Visual thoughts...

“If you set your goals ridiculously high and it’s a failure, you will fail above everyone else’s success.” James Cameron

That's it for this week. Please do share your thoughts with me on these pieces or anything I share on the Twitterverse and LinkedIn. Chat to you soon and stay healthy people!Don't forget to visit my website for more content.

(P.SWriting this newsletter is a labor of love for me and I'd keep doing it if only one person read it. If you enjoy my words, this content and think it might benefit others too, then please do me the honor of sharing this with your community).

Reply

or to participate.