Steal These Thoughts 02.10.22 | A Hive of Thoughts

20 useful resources to 10x your workflow

LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube
Spotify

On my mind...

The big thought

First off, I shared some thoughts at the beginning of the week on what I viewed as the 3 reasons why a Netflix for Learning model was a bad idea.And boy did this get people going! With nearly 50 comments on this thread, there is lots we can learn from different POV’s across the learning world. I also decided to finally share another little thing I’ve been pulling together over the last few weeks on the site.I like to share knowledge with others (I mean it is the industry I work in) and see people in the industry level up together. I’m not one of those who are storing all their secrets in some vault like a gremlin scared to let people see behind the scenes.So, I wanted to create something for my fellow L&D folks to help in their own workflow.

I’ve been floating around this space for 16 years now, so you can imagine, I’ve picked up a thing or two in my time. Thus, I decided to centralise this in one place.

However, what I didn’t want to do is build another bloated content library for L&D folks and pump it full of hundreds of resources.Instead, I’ve just selected the 20 most useful resources in my career and daily workflow right now. The idea is that this is an evolving space where I just share 20 useful things that anyone in the profession can get value from.It’s all free to access of course. And the feedback has been mad so far with 10,000 visits in the week alone, so I’m thinking there must be something useful about it 🤔I’m also deep in focus and preparation mode for my upcoming talk at the Learning Technologies Conference in London on October 13th.I’m talking about how to be smarter with tech in a hybrid world to boost performance and have had a full range of madcap ideas so far. If you’re around London, do come say hello and check out my talk if you have time.I will be hanging around the main floor at some point during the day, so don’t be afraid to wave at me if you see me around. I’ll be sharing some thoughts post the day of my talk with some BTS footage on how I put it together with the tools and process I followed too.Figured that might be helpful for those who are part of future conferences.And last but certainly not least, looking to the future, I’m finishing up a feature-length piece on technologies that could impact the future of workplace learning.I am very excited about this one as I get to nerd out on interesting tech. Expect metaverses, oversized VR glasses, scary AI tools and much more.I’m hoping to drop this in the very near future, so keep an eye on the blog.And that’s it for this week folks. Something a little different and hopefully just as valuable.I’ve got some pretty interesting thoughts coming up in the next few editions on reshaping the career game, looking at what the best managers do well and getting personal on my unconventional journey to becoming a head of L&D with useful insights from that journey too. Talk to you next time!

You might also like...

One more thing...

Career Thoughts: Why passion alone is not enough

“The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it.”Henry David Thoreau 

That's it for this week. Please do share your thoughts with me on these pieces or anything I share on the Twitterverse and LinkedIn. Chat to you soon and stay healthy people!Don't forget to visit my website for more content.

(P.SWriting this newsletter is a labor of love for me and I'd keep doing it if only one person read it. If you enjoy my words, this content and think it might benefit others too, then please do me the honor of sharing this with your community).

Reply

or to participate.