[Re-sent] Steal These Thoughts 13.12.22 | Get specific for growth and value

The #1 Reason Why You Arnt A High-Performer

LinkedIn
Twitter
YouTube
Spotify

Stop it!...

Also, not forgetting the usual dose of weird, wonderful and what I hope is helpful content from the rest of planet earth in my curated roundup.

The big thought

Lack of specificity is killing your performance.There, I said it.If you try to do everything for everybody. You’ll do nothing for nobody.This is a common problem in both career planning and learning strategies. I talk about this loads in the How To Win In The Careerverse playbook.People focus on doing too many things to a sub-par level.Instead…Focus on the 3-5 (max) that will produce the biggest value for your goal.Some examples 👇If you need to reskill for a new career. Don’t say “I need to learn these 20 skills in 6 months to get this job”.Instead…> Research the top 3 most important skills for that role.> Invest in those over 6 monthsWhat’s more valuable?20 sub-par skills or 3 shit-hot skills?You do the math!If you need to lose weight and get fit. Don’t do:> -1000 calorie deficit> x6 gym sessions a weekInstead… > Start at a -100 caloric deficit> Aim to go to the gym 1-3 times a weekBe amazing at doing those 2 things only and reap the rewards.FYI, I know nothing about fitness so the above is in no way accurate information to do such a thing. Talk to a professional not another stranger on the internet.And for my last example - Learning StrategiesOne of my favourite topics.Why? Because too many F**k them up.Budgets are tight right now, so don’t:Commit to 20 things in 2023, realise that’s not possible, drop half of them through the year and do what’s left badly because you spent so much time stretched on all 20.Instead…Get specific on the most valued-add tasks that will improve performance. Whether that’s with hiring, retention or capability.Whatever your company needs to improve.Be brutal and prioritise what will deliver the most value.No more than 3-5 goals!Then double down on these to deliver growth.Focus on big plays, not small, medium and big plays combined.That’s all I have to say, folks.TL;DR

  • Get specific

  • Prioritise value

  • Leave no room for waste

  • Supercharge growth

It's literally the exact process I've used to automate and excel a lot of my own work in L&D. More teams need to do this. This article from Zapier on how to automate L&D is worth your time.

"If you only do what you have to do, you will always have to do what you are told to do".Mark Cuban

That's it for this week. Please do share your thoughts with me on these pieces or anything I share on the Twitterverse and LinkedIn. Chat to you soon.Don't forget to visit my website for more content.

Enjoy the newsletter? Please forward to a friend. It only takes 10 seconds.Writing it takes me 10 hours.

Reply

or to participate.